TYCMiaR, part IV: personal spoonbread

My dear friend Sai has been telling me how much she loves my “things you can make in a ramekin” posts, and I must admit, it’s been a while. So, I got to thinking: what did I want to do for the next post? There are so many things! Sai and I have been going over the possibilities all morning. Finally, though, I hit on this: we’re having the last of my mother’s (amazing, stupendous, best-ever) fried chicken for lunch today. Why not keep it Southern and go with a little spoonbread? Little, being the operative word here.

So, I scoured the internet for ideas, tweaked a recipe, and came up with these beautiful, tiny, lovely corn cakes. They’re soft, sweet, and oh, so tasty. Studded with corn kernels and bursting with silky, sweet Southern flavor, this cake is a must-have for all those “supper for two” nights. It also works well as a cold breakfast cake the next morning, with a little cream and brown sugar on top!

Pheasant’s corn spoonbread

Makes two ramekins’ worth

1/4 c plus 1 tsp yellow cornmeal

1/3 c creamed corn

2 tbsp sour cream or mayo

1 tsp sugar or honey

1 1/4 tbsp water

1/8 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

scant 1/8 tsp cayenne

scant 1/16 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 350°F (176°C.)

Spray two 6 to 8 oz ramekins with Pam. In a small bowl, mix together the dry goods, stirring thoroughly. Add in the corn, sour cream or mayo, and honey if you’re using it. Mix it all together, divide between the ramekins, and place in the oven for 20 minutes.

When the timer goes off, check the cakes. Insert a toothpick. If it comes out clean, they’re done. If not, give them another four or five minutes.

As soon as the ramekins have cooled, you can dig in! Drizzle them with honey or chipotle compound butter. They’re even tasty just as they are, of course! 

On a related note, what are your favorite types of Southern food? I love cornbread, mashed potatoes, and fried chicken! Fried chicken is definitely my favorite…on a related note, am I the only girl north of Dixie who enjoys her fried chicken doused in hot sauce?

3 Comments

Filed under Baking, Ethnic

3 responses to “TYCMiaR, part IV: personal spoonbread

  1. Hells to the no! Fried chicken and hot sauce is a classic…even better with a little maple syrup or honey mixed into the Tabasco. Found your site from Butch Wonders and I love it!

    • Oh, I love fried chicken and maple syrup too! I’ve yet to try chicken and waffles, but M and I are planning a trip down south soon…and I absolutely can’t wait! Savory-sweet is one of my favorite combinations 🙂

Leave a comment