Egg whites: they’re what’s for breakfast

Today, I realized that if I keep eating so many pale foods, I should start buying red or blue plates.So, I seriously made myself an egg white omelet this morning. You know how, whenever you hear a woman talking about her weight loss, she mentions how much she loves exercise and egg white omelets? Unless she really likes plain, bland food, she’s lying through her Crest-whitened teeth. But, I wasn’t going to stand for that, pheasants. Why can’t healthy food be delicious and good for you?

I will admit, though, that I didn’t go into breakfast this morning with a very open mind. My mother loves that term, “an open mind,” and always wanted me to apply it to eating new foods. Well, I made myself a whipped egg white omelet this morning because A) one regular egg with its yolk has more cholesterol than I’m supposed to eat in a day, and B) I needed to use those egg whites.

So, I made myself a cup of tea, steeled myself, and brought out the beaters. After eating this, I’d most adamantly recommend that you whip them, because two flat egg whites can’t fill anyone up, I’d think. Anyway, I beat them until they were approximately three or four times their original size, and then turned on the pan. Do as I say, pheasants, not as I do: whipping the whites before making everything else leads to a lot of flat whites. Whip them right before you put them into the pan, not before.

I added a handful or two of raw spinach to wilt, as well as some chopped yellow onion, and some diced red chiles. I love heat…it’s filling, and the small buzz you get from eating spicy foods is absolutely euphoric. Also, I am of the belief that eating spicy foods makes you feel more full, but that’s just me.

Anyway, I sweated everything together, transferred it out of the pan, and added some Pam before spreading the egg whites in the pan. This is easier said than done when you’re attempting to spread the whites out to fill the pan (I used a 10″ nonstick with high sides) and keep them from deflating, but I did it! And when I lifted the omelet to flip it…pheasants, it was gorgeous. Lightly browned like beautifully toasted white bread, and smooth as a  baby’s bum. Lovely!

Once everything was cooked up, I’d filled the omelet and sat down, I couldn’t help but pause. The omelet itself was beautiful, but was I really going to eat this? I felt like a valley girl, and not in the good way. Oh well.

With the first bite, pheasants, I was pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t the best thing I’d ever put in my mouth (fried chicken might hold that prize) but it was definitely…tasty. On the second bite, I was definitely converted. The green, fresh flavor of the spinach mixed with the snap and aroma of onion, backed by the slight hint of chile made for a fabulous combination of fresh, popping flavor without a layer of egg to confuse it. I was pleased in a way I haven’t been pleased for a long time.

So, pheasants, my final judgement on egg white omelets? They’ll never replace shirred eggs or waffles in my book as a favorite breakfast food, but they’re definitely a nice everyday breakfast that I can enjoy. Even better? The entire omelet only had 110 calories with cheddar, and approximately 65 without. That’s a fabulous start to a beautiful day!

Egg Whites, done right

2 egg whites

1 c raw spinach

1/8 c chopped or sliced onion

1 tbsp diced red chile (or your favorite color)

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 oz sharp cheddar cheese (optional)

In a 10″ nonstick pan, sweat the spinach, onion and chiles together. Sprinkle with black pepper once they’re done, and set them aside. Heat the pan on medium and, as it’s heating, whip your egg whites. Start on low, then work your way up to high. If you’re like me and enjoy a good arm workout, whip them by hand.

Spray Pam into the pan and then carefully dump the whipped whites into it. Spread them out with the back of a rubber spatula, making as smooth and wide a surface as possible. Then, mix up the cayenne, salt and garlic powder, sprinkle it on, and wait. About two minutes later, lift the edge of the omelet. If it doesn’t come up easily and isn’t browned, put it back down. If it is, carefully flip it over and let it go for another two minutes. Once it’s nice and toasty on the other side, slide it out onto a plate, load it up, fold it, and enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under All things eggs

2 responses to “Egg whites: they’re what’s for breakfast

Leave a Reply

