Oatmeal Lovin’

So, pheasants, I have a passion for oatmeal that I feel you must know about.

It all started a few weeks ago, when I discovered the blog ChocolateCoveredKatie.com. Katie is an absolute sweetheart, I’m telling you, and she has a lust for oatmeal that entirely matches my own.

In this blog, Katie talks about something she calls “the voluminous oatmeal trick.” Now, the first time I tried this trick, I tried it on the stove. Pheasants, don’t do that. Learn from my mistakes. Make it up in a Pyrex measuring cup and you’ll never go hungry again! Or, rather, not when there’s oatmeal around.

It’s a pretty simple premise: oatmeal is a grain, which readily soaks up water. If you put in the right amount of water for one serving (1/2 cup or 40g) you get…a half cup of oatmeal. But what if you add more? Well, nothing…immediately. You get a bunch of oats swimming in their own private pool. But if you leave it for a few hours, or overnight…wow. You get two cups of the most delicious oatmeal ever. Well, okay. It really tastes like normal oatmeal until you add the delicious sugary things into it, but seriously. For those of you who are looking to watch what you eat (and how much) this oatmeal is definitely the way to go. Come to think of it, it’s a great thing for poor college students, too!

The recipe goes a little something like this:

Katie’s Voluminous Oatmeal

1/2 cup oats

water to fill

Place the oats in a two-cup Pyrex (or another microwave-safe) measuring cup. Fill with water until it reaches the max line. Then, nuke it for three minutes and let it sit for another five. (Or, I like to leave mine in there overnight…but I know a lot of people have this thing about “germs” so you can do as you wish.)  Reheat it the next morning (or eat it cold, if you’re me.) It’s amazing!

I really like sweet things. I’m not ashamed of that. Thus, my oatmeal is usually chock-full of sweet, delicious things. I like honey, cinnamon, cloves, oranges, pomegranate seeds (a lovely, lovely idea I had the other day, which turned out to be even more beautiful in my mouth.) Also, chocolate. Mmm, chocolate. Who says you can’t have it for breakfast? I took a half tablespoon of cocoa powder and a full tablespoon of some Swiss Miss cocoa mix we had lying around, and mixed it in. Ohhhhh yeahhhh. With a nice cup of green tea to finish off, you’ve got yourself a meal, pheasants.

Servings: 1 ~ Calories: 160 ~ Fat: 2g ~ Carbs: 33g ~ Fiber: 3g ~Protein: 4g ~ Sodium: 270mg

And, get ready for tonight! We’re doing a very special post on stuffed sole for one!

Leave a comment

Filed under Pastas, grains and oatmeal

Leave a Reply

